Grocery stores?

A lot of people say there’s a lack of grocery stores in the city, and I agree, but then again, I don’t.  There’s Whole Foods, which is amazing, but expensive, and doesn’t necessarily cater to the general population of grocery shoppers.  Then there’s Ye Olde Butcher Shop, which looks amazing but I haven’t been yet; if I had to guess, I’d say it probably doesn’t cater to the masses either.  So where are people going to buy giant packages of toilet paper, gallons of milk on sale and bargain brand canned goods?  Well, they need a grocery store like Kroger or Meijer, and that is something there is a shortage of in the city.

Where I used to live, which, granted, was in the suburbs, there were five Kroger’s and a Meijer within a 10-15 minute drive from my house.  Living downtown, there is the new Meijer that was built at 8 Mile near I-75.  Now, I knew of this Meijer, but a few different people had told me not to go there, one of which had patronized the store and one of which had not.  The one who hadn’t been there probably based the recommendation on the fact that it’s not in the greatest area.  It’s fairly close to Ferndale, but technically still located in a rundown area of the city. 

On a day off of work, I decided to venture there and see what it was about.  As I pulled into the parking lot, I was pleased to see that the Meijer was located in a nice new strip mall with other new stores, like a Payless shoe store and a PetCo.  The parking lot was huge, flat and easy to navigate.  I walked into Meijer and was really excited with what I saw, because the store still looked brand spanking new.  All of the aisles and shelves looked virtually untouched.  The store was busy, but not crowded or noisy.  It was clean, and everyone there was just doing their normal grocery shopping and going about their business.  The store was fully staffed, with security on duty.  And this is a small detail, and I don’t know why it even matters, but I love when grocery stores have that brown cement floor, reminiscent of a warehouse.  It just feels comfortable to me. 

The cashier was very nice, and helpfully explained to me the details of their rewards program.  I made conversation with the gentleman in line behind me, him joking that I was going to buy his groceries.  All in all, it was a very pleasant trip to the grocery store, and I’m glad that I went for myself to form my own opinion.  I’ll definitely be back.

Until next time,

H

Leave a Reply

